clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 Tenth Anniversary Team--Men's Basketball

The Big 12 Conference announced their 10th Anniversary Team this afternoon. Players were selected by the combination of a media panel and through online fan voting. Players must have been All Big 12 First Team for at least one season.

Official Selections
Raef LaFrentz, Kansas
Nick Collison, Kansas
Kirk Hinrich, Kansas
Marcus Fizer, Iowa State
TJ Ford, Texas

Kansas has dominated the Big 12 since its inception. The Jayhawks have four outright regular season titles and one tied title. Iowa State has won two; Texas one; Oklahoma St. one; and Oklahoma one tied title. Kansas has also been successful in the post season conference tournament. KU has three titles; OU has won three; Oklahoma St has won two; and Iowa St. has one title. Coming into this season, Kansas had the best conference record over the last nine seasons. KU was 118-26 over that time span. Even with all that success, I think the Anniversary Team is a little heavy with Jayhawks.

Awiggo's Selections:
Raef LaFrentz, Kansas
Nick Collison, Kansas
Andre Emmett, Texas Tech
Jamaal Tinsley, Iowa State
TJ Ford, Texas

Other players worth considering:
Wayne Simien, Kansas
Hollis Price, Oklahoma
Kareem Rush, Missouri
Chris Mihm, Texas

Who would you have on your First Team?