clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tucker, Aldridge Sweep Big 12 Awards

P.J. Tucker was named the Big 12 Player of the Year, while teammate Lamarcus Aldridge was named Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. No surprise here. We've been predicting this for a while now.

With Reddick and Morrison the only two serious contenders for national Player of the Year, the only question that remains is whether Tucker or Aldridge will find their way on to the first team All America team. I'm guessing not, but Tucker is deserving. Aldridge is probably a second or third team All American.

In other awards, OU's Michael Neal was Newcomer of the Year for the Big 12, while Bill Self won the Coach of the Year, deservedly so. Brandon Rush (Kansas) was the Freshman of the Year.

Longhorns Brad Buckman and Daniel Gibson were voted on to the All Big 12 Third Team.

For a complete summary of all the Big 12 Awards, you can visit here.