clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2007 College Football Blogger Award Presentation: Best Big 12 Blog

The voting is finished and it's time to present this year's College Football Blogger Awards. Where possible, last year's winner, ineligible to win this year, will be presenting the award to this year's winner. Please check in at Rocky Top Talk and EDSBS for a schedule of all the awards to be presented over the next two days.


2007 Nominees

Barking Carnival

Big Red Network

Corn Nation

Double T Nation

Rock M Nation


2007 RUNNER UP: Corn Nation

The Nebraska blogosphere is brimming with outstanding sites, but Corn Nation stands out as consistently excellent - always entertaining and informative, frequently funny, and, perhaps best of all, full of surprises. Corn Nation is as likely to hit readers with a book review as it is a game report, and the authors seem to strive to keep things always fresh. Among a pool of worthy candidates, Corn Nation is a deserving awardee.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

2007 WINNER: Barking Carnival

The award stays in the Longhorn family! Our brothers over at Barking Carnival are deserving winners of this year's award for Best Big 12 blog, providing fans with a constantly-updating stream of news and opinion from their army of contributors. The Barkers, as they call themselves, are remarkable in that they're not all just thoughtful contributors, they're all excellent writers, as well. The end result is a terrific site for Longhorn and Big 12 football fans, comprised of equal parts news, analysis, and humor.

I remember well when Barking Carnival launched and someone asked me what I thought about new Longhorn blogs launching. I said, "With any luck, they'll be good." They certainly have been, and that's a good thing for all involved - readers and bloggers alike. So I'm especially pleased to see their excellent work recognized by fellow bloggers - a ten-gallon hat tip to our friends at Barking Carnival.

Congratulations to all of this year's nominees, and to our two winners.