clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Central Florida Depth Chart

New, comments


Position No. Player | No. Player | No. Player
Flanker (Z) 8 Jordan Shipley | 11 James Kirkendoll   6 DeSean Hales
Sub B 84 Marquise Goodwin | 7 John Chiles      
Tight End (Y) 83 Greg Smith | 13 Ahmard Howard
| 89 Barrett Matthews
Flex TE: Dan Buckner
Right Tackle 64 Kyle Hix | 72 Britt Mitchell      
Right Guard 63 Michael Huey | 56 Tray Allen | 54 Mark Buchanan
Center 71 Chris Hall | 78 David Snow | 75 Steve Moore
Left Guard 52 Charlie Tanner | 56 Tray Allen

Left Tackle 74 Adam Ulatoski | 77 Luke Poehlmann      
Split End (X) 9 Malcolm Williams | 4 Dan Buckner      
Tailback 31 Cody Johnson OR
28 Fozzy Whitaker |
Vondrell McGee
Tre' Newton
Specialty Back: D.J. Monroe
Fullback 24 Antwann Cobb | 31 Cody Johnson      
Short Yardage: Lamarr Houston
Quarterback 12 Colt McCoy | 3 Garrett Gilbert | 17 Sherrod Harris
Place-Kicker 15 Hunter Lawrence | 39 Ryan Bailey | 19 Justin Tucker

Position No. Player | No. Player | No. Player
Buck 2 Sergio Kindle | 80 Alex Okafor      
Tackle (Nose) 91 Kheeston RAndall OR 92 Ben Alexander      
Tackle 33 Lamarr Houston | 96 Calvin Howell OR 93 Tyrell Higgins
End 81 Sam Acho | 32 Eddie Jones | 95 Tevin Mims
Strongside LB 18 Emmanuel Acho | 1 Keenan Robinson      
Middle LB 38 Roddrick Muckelroy | 42 Dustin Earnest      
Weakside LB 1 Keenan Robinson | 18 Emmannuel Acho      
Right CB 3 Curtis Brown OR 8 Chykie Brown      
Right Safety 21 Blake Gideon |
Nolan Brewster
| 5 Ben Wells
Left Safety 12 Earl Thomas | 27 Nolan Brewster      
Left CB 4 Aaron Williams OR 3 Curtis Brown      
Nickel 12 Earl Thomas | 7 Deon Beasley | 4 Aaron Williams
Punter 19 Justin Tucker | 47 John Gold | 17 Trevor Gerland

Punt Returns 8 Jordan Shipley | 12 Earl Thomas | 3 Curtis Brown
Kickoff Returns 26
D.J. Monroe
Malcolm Williams
Jordan Shipley
Marquise Goodwin
  4 Aaron Williams
Kickoffs 19 Justin Tucker | 15 Hunter Lawrence      
Holder 8 Jordan Shipley | 17 Sherrod Harris      
Deep Snapper (PAT/FG) 83 Greg Smith | 72 Britt Mitchell      
Deep Snapper (Punts) 58 William Harvey | 48 Alex Zumberge      

Some brief analysis after the jump...

The big news here is obviously that Cody Johnson is now listed as the co-starter at running back, but in front of Fozzy Whittaker. It's hard to say if the coaching staff is upset with Whittaker, who missed open holes twice against Oklahoma State while bouncing his runs outside and also went out of bounds without contact again, a bad habit that was particularly damaging against Oklahoma, when Whittaker left 10-15 yards on the field. More likely, it's a result of Mack Brown's infatuation with larger backs and Johnson's tough running the last several games. He's still not a great fit in the scheme, but he does look quick and is a better blocker both on quarterback draws and in blitz pick up. It's also possible that he could see time as the lead blocker in the Monroe Series, where he could be much more effective than Whittaker.

Besides that, not a whole lot else worth parsing, although the coaches continue to list Shipley at flanker even though he has been playing in the slot almost exclusively since the Colorado game. Marquise Goodwin is now the starter in the slot in front of John Chiles. Malcolm Williams is also listed as the starter on kickoff returns with D.J. Monroe.

Notice that Curtis Brown is listed in front of Chykie Brown in their co-starter relationsihp, no surprise as Curtis has significantly outplayed Chykie for most of the season.