clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D’Onta Foreman named semifinalist for Walter Camp Player of the Year

The junior running back has received another accolade for his performance this season

NCAA Football: Baylor at Texas Erich Schlegel-USA TODAY Sports

In what has become customary in the last few weeks, Texas Longhorns running back D’Onta Foreman added another honor to his growing resume on Thursday morning. Foreman, along with fourteen other players, was named a semifinalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, traditionally given to the best player in college football each year.

The last Longhorn to win the award was Colt McCoy who won the award in consecutive years from 2008-2009. Previously, running back Ricky Williams received the hardware in 1998 during his Heisman season and became the first Texas player to win the award.

Foreman’s latest honor continues to highlight his dominant 2016 campaign. Foreman has compiled 1,613 rushing yards through nine games and tied Earl Campbell’s record for most consecutive 100-yard games by a Texas running back against West Virginia. Earlier this week, he was also named a semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award.

The junior running back’s last three games have been especially impressive. Over the past three contests, Foreman has recorded 758 rushing yards, the second most in a three game stretch in Texas history behind Ricky Williams. That stretch also included a 341-yard effort against Texas Tech, the third most in a single game by a Longhorns player.

The Walter Camp Foundation will name a list of five finalists on November 30, and the award will be presented on December 8. Whether Foreman takes home the award or not, this honor comes as another reminder of how great the Texas running back has been this season.

Other notable semifinalists for the award include:

  • Jonathan Allen-Alabama
  • Lamar Jackson-Louisville
  • Jake Browning-Washington
  • Jabrill Peppers-Michigan
  • Baker Mayfield-Oklahoma
  • J.T. Barrett-Ohio State
  • Dalvin Cook-Florida State