clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

3 Texas players named to All-Big 12 first team

Two more Longhorns earned second-team recognition.

NCAA Football: Texas Christian at Texas Brendan Maloney-USA TODAY Sports

On Wednesday, the Big 12 Conference announced that the league’s coaches selected three Texas Longhorns players as first-team All-Conference selections — running back D’Onta Foreman, offensive tackle Connor Williams, and punter Michael Dickson.

Despite a preseason ranking as the No. 6 running back in the Big 12, according to ESPN, Foreman ran for 2,208 yards in only 11 games to lead the nation before declaring for the 2017 NFL Draft.

However, Foreman lost out on the Offensive Player of the Year award to Oklahoma wide receiver Dede Westbrook, who also earned a nod as a Heisman Trophy finalist over Foreman. Despite those snubs, Foreman is likely the favorite the win the Doak Walker Award on Thursday evening.

Williams turned in another sensational season in building on his Freshman All-American campaign, giving up only two sacks on over 900 offensive snaps and grading at 90 percent or better in six of 11 games. He is widely regarded as one of the top left tackles in the country.

Dickson also neared Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year honors in setting the school record for punting average at 47.4 yards per attempt. He’s a Ray Guy Award finalist.

Second-team selections included defensive end Breckyn Hager, who led the team with 13.5 tackles for loss, and offensive guard Kent Perkins, the only senior on the offensive line.

West Virginia running back Justin Crawford was the Offensive Newcomer of the Year over Texas quarterback Shane Buechele after the freshman passer struggled down the stretch.