clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Texas RB D’Onta Foreman wins Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award


D’Onta Foreman

After several notable snubs during the awards season, former Texas Longhorns running back D’Onta Foreman won the 2016 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award on Wednesday evening in Tyler.

"This means so much to me to win the award named for Earl Campbell," Foreman said. "To be here tonight with him and Ricky Williams as part of the tradition of Texas running backs couldn't be more special. I'm so grateful to God, to my family, coaches and teammates, and I'm sharing this with them because i wouldn't be here without them. I also want to thank all the Longhorn fans for their support."

Started in 2013, previous winners include Bryce Petty, Trevone Boykin, and Greg Ward, making Foreman the first non-quarterback to win it. The award is given to the top offensive player in the country who is from Texas, went to school in Texas, or played for a school in Texas while displaying these characteristics — integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity.

Foreman finished second nationally with 2,028 yards, in addition to scoring 15 rushing touchdowns, in one of the most impressive individual seasons in recent Longhorns history. In doing so, Foreman put his name among the top running backs to ever wear burnt orange and white, including Campbell and Ricky Williams.

In Foreman’s final 13 games at Texas, he eclipsed the 100-yard mark in each contest, breaking Campbell’s school record.

Shortly after the hire of new head coach Tom Herman, Foreman declared for the 2017 NFL Draft.