clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

9 Longhorn commits named to All-State teams this week

7 signees and 2 #trUTh21 commits earned All-State recognition from the Texas AP Sports Editors

2020 offensive line signee Logan Parr (San Antonio O’Connor) was one of four future Longhorns to earn All-State honors for the second time this week.

An annual tradition for the week of the Texas high school football state championships is the release of the All-State football teams for each classification by the Texas Associated Press Sports Editors (APSE). This is the first of the two main media-curated All-State teams to be announced, and the Texas Sports Writers Association typically releases theirs in February.

Athletes are voted on based on their regular season performance, and as is often the case there were a number of future Texas Longhorns who earned All-State recognition on this year’s teams.

In Class 6A, 2020 offensive line signees Jake Majors (Prosper) and Logan Parr (San Antonio O’Connor) both earned Second Team honors, and 2020 quarterback signee Ja’Quinden Jackson (Duncanville) made the Honorable Mention team. Parr previously earned All-State Honorable Mention honors from the APSE as a junior in 2018, and 2020 QB signee Hudson Card (Lake Travis) was also an Honorable Mention choice as a junior, but his candidacy for this year’s All-State teams was likely hurt by his missing the last three games of the regular season with a foot injury. The full Class 6A All-State team can be seen here.

In Class 5A, newly-minted surprise linebacker signee Jaylan Ford (Frisco Lone Star) was named to the Second Team at his position, as was 2021 commit Billy Bowman (Denton Ryan) at defensive back. Bowman’s team defeated Ford’s in last week’s Class 5A Division I semifinals and will play in the state championship game tonight at AT&T Stadium in Arlington against 2020 signee Xavion Alford’s Alvin Shadow Creek team.

Four future Longhorns received Class 5A All-State Honorable Mention honors. Two-way playmaker and 2020 cornerback signee Kitan Crawford (Tyler John Tyler) was an Honorable Mention pick at both running back and defensive back, and he was joined on the list of Honorable Mention defensive backs by fellow east Texan and 2020 signee Jerrin Thompson (Lufkin). 2020 linebacker signee Prince Dorbah (Highland Park) and 2021 athlete commit Ja’Tavion Sanders (Denton Ryan) were both named Honorable Mention defensive linemen. The full Class 5A All-State team can be seen here.

Billy Bowman previously earned APSE All-State First Team honors at defensive back as a sophomore in 2018, Prince Dorbah was a Second Team defensive lineman as a junior, and Jaylan Ford was an Honorable Mention linebacker a year ago. 2020 signee Xavion Alford was an Honorable Mention defensive back as a junior, but missed nearly all of his senior season this fall due to a knee injury.

Congrats to all of those future Longhorn athletes who earned All-State recognition, and hopefully some of them will add All-Big 12 honors to their resume in the next few years.