clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas football’s All-Decade team results

Here are the best Longhorns players from the 2010s, as voted for by the fans.

New Mexico v Texas Photo by Cooper Neill/Getty Images

Earlier this week, we put together a voting ballot for Burnt Orange Nation’s All-Decade team. Thanks to your participation, over a thousand votes came in on which Texas Longhorns most deserved to be included on this team.

Based on the results, here’s a compiled roster of the best Texas football players from 2010-2019.


Quarterback: Sam Ehlinger (2017-19)

It comes to no surprise here but Ehlinger lead the way with 88.8 percent of the total votes. Case McCoy was second at 4.6 percent.

Running Back: D’Onta Foreman (2014-16)

The former 2,000-yard rusher was by far the most deserving option at running back. He owned over 78 percent of the votes.

Wide Receivers: Devin Duvernay (2016-19), Lil’ Jordan Humphrey (2016-18), and Marquise Goodwin (2010-12)

Duvernay led all wideouts in votes, followed by Humphrey and Goodwin. Collin Johnson made a late push, but finished fourth behind Goodwin by less than 50 votes. Duvernay and Humphrey each gathered over 66 percent of votes.

Tight End: Andrew Beck (2014-18)

In a battle between two outstanding blocking tight ends, Beck nudged out Geoff Swaim by 10 percent.

Offensive Tackles: Connor Williams (2015-17) and Samuel Cosmi (2018-19)

Interior Offensive Line: Zach Shackelford (2016-19), Patrick Vahe (2015-18), and Trey Hopkins (2010-13)

The program’s improved offensive line play towards the end of this decade under Tom Herman and offensive line coach Herb Hand represented how the votes swayed here. Williams led the way with nearly 97 percent of votes.


Defensive Tackles: Malcom Brown (2012-14) and Poona Ford (2015-17)

The two current NFL defensive tackles were the undisputed winners here. Brown and Ford each received over 80 percent of votes.

Defensive Ends: Jackson Jeffcoat (2010-13) and Charles Omenihu (2015-18)

The former Big 12 DPOY and Big 12 Defensive Lineman of the Year battled for the top spot, each received nearly 66 percent of votes. Alex Okafor was the next highest at under 33 percent. Texas produced multiple NFL-caliber defensive ends this decade.

Linebackers: Jordan Hicks (2010-14), Malik Jefferson (2015-17), and Emmanuel Acho (2010-11)

Hicks led all linebackers in voting at 82 percent. Jefferson (60.7 percent) and Acho (58.2 percent) got the nod over Gary Johnson (45.1 percent) as the other two linebackers.

Cornerbacks: Quandre Diggs (2011-14) and Holton Hill (2015-17)

Outside of punter Michael Dickson and offensive tackle Connor Williams, Diggs received more votes than anyone else on the ballot. All but 3.2 percent of voters selected him as one of their cornerbacks. Kris Boyd, Carrington Byndom, and Duke Thomas were all in contention for the second spot, but it was Holton Hill who came out on top with just 33 percent of votes.

Safeties: Kenny Vaccaro (2010-12) and DeShon Elliott (2015-17)

All-American’s Vaccaro (85.5 percent) and Elliott (40.7 percent) were the top two vote getters at safety.

Special Teams

Kicker: Justin Tucker (2010-11)

Punter: Michael Dickson (2015-17)

Return Specialist: Marquise Goodwin (2010-12)

From Tucker to Goodwin, these three players are well-deserved to highlight the Longhorns special teams.


Most Underrated Longhorn: John Harris (2011-14)

Favorite Game: 2011 @ Texas A&M — W 27-25

Favorite Play: Justin Tucker game-winning ‘goodbye to A&M’ field goal