clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas announces major additions to future non-conference schedules

A home-and-home series with Florida in 2030 and 2031 headlines the new games.

NCAA Football: Southern California at Texas Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

On Friday, the Texas Longhorns announced a number of additions to the non-conference football schedule in future years, including home-and-home series against the Florida Gators and Arizona State Sun Devils, according to athletics director Chris Del Conte.

In the works since news broke about the potential matchups in April, Texas will travel to Gainesville to face Florida in 2030, with the return game scheduled for the next season. The two programs have only met three times before, with the Horns holding a 2-0-1 advantage, but haven’t played since 1940. The trip to Gainesville will allow Texas to make an impression on recruits in the talent-laden Sunshine State, as well as continue a host of games scheduled against SEC powers, including Alabama, Georgia, and LSU.

The following two seasons, Texas will play Arizona State, starting with a road game in Tempe in 2032 and a home game in 2033. The only previous contest between the two programs was the Holiday Bowl victory for the Longhorns in 2007.

A home-only series of games against in-state opponents are also on the schedule over an eight-year stretch — UTSA in 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030 and UTEP in 2025, 2027, 2029, and 2031. A second all-time game against Colorado State is now on the schedule, too, with the Rams traveling to Austin in 2024.

Two games are also off the schedule, as Texas will no longer travel to Tampa to play South Florida in 2024 or host the Bulls in 2024. The renegotiation will reportedly cost the Longhorns $1.9 million.

Future non-conference games

Opponent Date Year Location
Opponent Date Year Location
South Florida Sept. 5 2020 Austin
LSU Sept. 12 2020 Baton Rouge
UTEP Sept. 19 2020 Austin
Louisiana Sept. 4 2021 Austin
Arkansas Sept. 11 2021 Fayetteville
Rice Sept. 18 2021 Austin
Alabama Sept. 10 2022 Austin
UTSA Sept. 17 2022 Austin
Rice Sept. 2 2023 Austin
Alabama Sept. 9 2023 Tuscaloosa
Colorado State Aug. 31 2024 Austin
Michigan Sept. 7 2024 Austin
UTSA Sept. 14 2024 Austin
Ohio State Aug. 30 2025 Austin
UTEP Sept. 13 2025 Austin
Ohio State Sept. 5 2026 Columbus
UTSA Sept. 19 2026 Austin
Michigan Sept. 11 2027 Ann Arbor
UTEP Sept. 18 2027 Austin
Georgia Sept. 2 2028 Austin
UTSA Sept. 16 2028 Austin
Georgia Sept. 1 2029 Athens
UTEP Sept. 15 2029 Austin
Florida Sept. 7 2030 Gainesville
UTSA Sept. 14 2030 Austin
Florida Sept. 6 2031 Austin
UTEP Sept. 13 2031 Austin
Arizona State Sept. 11 2032 Tempe
Arizona State Sept. 11 2033 Austin