clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas QB Sam Ehlinger named to Maxwell Award Watch List

Colt McCoy was the last Longhorn to win the award, doing so in 2009.

NCAA Football: Sugar Bowl-Georgia vs Texas Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

The hype ahead of Sam Ehlinger’s junior campaign in burnt orange only continues to intensify.

On Monday, the Texas Longhorns field general was named to the 2019 Maxwell Award Watch List, which annually honors the College Football Player of the Year.

Last season, Ehlinger exploded onto the national scene behind 41 total touchdowns, which marked the second-most in school history, trailing only Colt McCoy’s 45 scores in 2008. All stats considered, Ehlinger pieced together one of the most successful seasons in school history, completing 64.7 percent of his passes and totaling 3,292 yards and 25 touchdowns while tossing only five interceptions, securing the Big 12 record for most attempts without an interception (308) along the way.

Arguably just as essential to Texas’ turnaround was Ehlinger’s efforts on the ground. A key factor in the Longhorns rushing attack, especially in short yardage and red zone situations, Ehlinger amassed 482 yards on 164 attempts and crossed pay dirt 16 times, snapping Vince Young’s record for the most rushing touchdowns by a quarterback in a single season in school history.

Of course, such efforts largely paved the way for Texas to secure a Sugar Bowl win over No. 5 Georgia, and thus, the program’s first 10-win campaign since 2009.

If Ehlinger, who was also recently named as the Big 12 Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, is able build upon his breakout 2018 showing to ultimately earn honors as the 2019 Maxwell Award recipient, he’ll join an illustrious list featuring some of the most profound Longhorns in program history:

  • Tommy Nobis — 1965
  • Ricky Williams — 1998
  • Vince Young — 2005
  • Colt McCoy — 2009