clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas QB Sam Ehlinger named Big 12 Preseason Offensive Player of the Year

Three other Longhorns were also selected to the Preseason All-Big 12 team.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: JAN 01 Sugar Bowl - Texas v Georgia Photo by Jeffrey Vest/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

On Tuesday, the Big 12 Conference revealed the Preseason All-Big 12 team, as well as the Preseason Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, as selected by the league’s media representatives. Three Longhorns made the All-Big 12 team, highlighted by the selection of junior quarterback Sam Ehlinger, who received recognition as the Preseason Offensive Player of the Year.

Senior center Zach Shackelford, sophomore safety Caden Sterns, and sophomore kicker Cameron Dicker were the three other selections to the All-Big 12 team.

Ehlinger became the only player in school history to pass for at least 25 touchdowns and rush for 15 touchdowns, with his 41 total touchdowns ranking as the second-best mark in school history. Colt McCoy holds the school record for most touchdowns in a single season with 45.

Shackelford is set to enter his fourth season as the starter at center, though injuries have limited him to 27 total starts. However, the Belton native had his best season in 2018, when he was named first team All-Big 12.

A freshman All-American last season, Sterns is widely regarded as one of the top defensive players in the conference after a playmaking campaign that saw him notch four interceptions and block a field-goal attempt against USC that was returned for a touchdown. He was also a Jim Thorpe Award semifinalist in his first season on the Forty Acres.

An Austin native, Dicker set the school’s freshman record for most made field goals with 18 and hit the game-winning kick against Oklahoma in the Cotton Bowl. He was a second team All-Big 12 selection as a freshman.

The Sooners lead the conference with six selections to the Preseason All-Big 12 team, as well as the Preseason Defensive Player of the Year, linebacker Kenneth Murray, and the Preseason Newcomer of the Year, quarterback Jalen Hurts.

The conference will release the preseason media poll on Wednesday.