clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 Honors Isaiah Taylor and Prince Ibeh

Taylor was named to the All-Big 12 first team, and Prince Ibeh was named Defensive Player of the Year. Kerwin Roach and Eric Davis were named to the All-Newcomer team.

Brendan Maloney-USA TODAY Sports

The Big 12 released its postseason awards today and several Texas Longhorns were honored, as Prince Ibeh was named Defensive Player of the Year, while Isaiah Taylor was voted to the All-Big 12 first team. Texas freshmen Kerwin Roach and Eric Davis were named to the All-Newcomer team. Javan Felix received an honorable mention for the All-Big 12 list.

Prince Ibeh was a deserving choice as the top defender in the league. During Big 12 play the Texas senior blocked 11 percent of opponent two point shots while on the floor, which was the highest rate in the conference. While other players were surely deserving of consideration here -- my personal list included Jonathan Holton and Khadeem Lattin -- Ibeh's numbers and his ability to control a game defensively made him the best choice.

Isaiah Taylor beat out several other guards for the first team of the All-Big 12 honorees. It was a forgone conclusion that Taylor would be named on one of these teams, but it wasn't certain that he would make the first team over Frank Mason and others. Taylor scored 15 points per game during league play, which was fifth in the Big 12, and averaged 4.8 assists per game, which was third in the league. Other players named to the All-Big 12 first team were Taurean Prince, Georges Niang, Perry Ellis, and Player of the Year Buddy Hield.

Two freshmen guards for Texas were voted among the top newcomers in the league. Both Kerwin Roach -- who has played exceptionally well during the Big 12 season -- and Eric Davis were listed, along with Newcomer of the Year Deonte Burton, Barry Brown, Dean Wade, and Freshman of the Year Jawun Evans.

Others honored by the league include Texas Tech coach Tubby Smith, who was named Coach of the Year, and Sixth man award winner Jaysean Paige.