clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Alex Okafor, Kenny Vaccaro named to All-Big 12 first team

The two senior Longhorns were the only two members of the first team.

Matthew Emmons-US PRESSWIRE

The disappointing regular season for the Texas Longhorns was reflected in the Big 12 honors handed out on Wednesday -- only senior defensive end Alex Okafor and senior safety Kenny Vaccaro made the first team.

No Longhorns earned individual awards and, frankly, none of them were even close to deserving them.

Junior offensive guard Trey Hopkins was the lone representative on the second team, while junior wide receiver Mike Davis, freshman running back Johnathan Gray (Off. FOY), senior punter Alex King, senior kick returner DJ Monroe, and sophomore wide receiver Jaxon Shipley all earned honorable mentions.

In looking at the players who made the first two teams and the Texas contenders, there were really no major omissions, as the defense especially failed to meet the high expectations heading into this season. The linebackers were terrible, the experienced cornerbacks had subpar seasons and none of the defensive tackles were standouts.

Offensively, the honorable mentions were about as good as the 'Horns could expect, though Davis could possibly have had a case for the second team, if he hadn't faded in the last two games. Along the offensive line, there was so much inconsistency against good fronts that someone like Josh Cochran didn't really have a shot.

The complete list is available at the Big 12 website.