clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

'05 Texas Longhorns voted third-best national championship team of BCS/playoff era

2005 'Horns are among college football's best teams of the last 20 years.

Brian Bahr/Getty Images

With the offseason still young, a panel of college football writers took a poll and decided the 2005 Texas Longhorns are the third-best of all national champions since the BCS was created in 1998.

The poll, which was organized by CBS Sports' Jon Solomon, includes CBS Sports' Dennis Dodd, Fox Sports' Stewart Mandel and Bruce Feldman, Ralph Russo from the Associated Press, Paul Myerberg of USA Today, Tony Barnhart of the SEC Network and GridironNow and Jon Wilner of the San Jose Mercury News.

Here's how they rank the last 18 college football national champions:

18. 2007 LSU (12-2)

17. 2006 Florida (13-1)

16. 2000 Oklahoma (13-0)

15. 1998 Tennessee (13-0)

14. 2003 LSU (13-1)

13. 2010 Auburn (14-0)

12. 2002 Ohio State (14-0)

11. 2015 Alabama (14-1)

T-9. 2012 Alabama (13-1)

T-9. 2014 Ohio State (14-1)

8. 2011 Alabama (12-1)

7. 2008 Florida (13-1)

6. 2013 Florida State (14-0)

T-4. 1999 Florida State (12-0)

T-4. 2009 Alabama (14-0)

3. 2005 Texas (13-0)

2. 2004 USC (13-0)

1. 2001 Miami (12-0)

Here's what Solomon had to say about the Vince Young-led 'Horns:

Bottom line: Texas produced seven games with 50 points or more and outlasted extremely talented USC, thanks to Vince Young, in a memorable national championship game. The defense wasn't too bad, either. Jamaal Charles, Michael Griffin, Michael Huff, Brian Orakpo and Aaron Ross are among the contributors who carved out productive NFL careers. Just as impressively, the Longhorns went to Columbus early in the season and defeated Ohio State. Texas' scoring average on offense is the second-highest by a champion in the BCS/CFP eras.

Do you think they got it right?