clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Texas RB D’Onta Foreman named semifinalist for Doak Walker Award

The Longhorns star is among 10 semifinalists in the running to be awarded as the nation’s top running back

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

NCAA Football: West Virginia at Texas Brendan Maloney-USA TODAY Sports

Anyone that’s been fortunate enough to witness Texas Longhorns star D’Onta Foreman run wild on opposing defenses in 2016 likely won’t be surprised by the news that the junior has been named as a semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award, which is awarded to the nation’s top running back.

Foreman is among 10 semifinalists named to the list Wednesday morning.

After appearing in nine of Texas’ 10 games this season, Foreman is currently second in the nation with 1,613 yards and leads the FBS in rushing yards per game with 179.2. Foreman’s per game average increases to 189.3 during Big 12 contests.

As part of what continues to become a truly special season for the Texas City native, Foreman’s name has become a familiar one in the Longhorns record books. With his 250-yard performance against Baylor, Foreman became the 23rd Longhorn to rush for at least 1,000 yards in a season and the first to reach that feat since Jamaal Charles in 2007. Against West Virginia at home last week, Foreman tied legendary Texas running back Earl Campbell’s record with his 11th straight 100-yard game, and will have an opportunity to make that record his own on Saturday against Kansas, which is the team his streak began against. If Foreman can rush for a mere six yards against Kansas, he’ll move into fifth all-time on Texas rushing list, surpassing Charles.

Following this weekend’s slate of games, three finalists will be determined and named on Tuesday, Nov. 22. Expect to see Foreman’s name on that list, as well.

The entire Doak Walker Award semifinalists list:

  • D’Onta Foreman - Texas
  • Leonard Fournette - LSU
  • Dalvin Cook - Florida State
  • Saquon Barkley - Penn State
  • Aaron Jones - UTEP
  • Donnel Pumphrey - San Diego State
  • Brian Hill - Wyoming
  • Christian McCaffrey - Stanford
  • Kamryn Pettway - Auburn
  • Jeremy McNichols - Boise State